Connect with us!

RSS Feed

Pierce voters approve SPLOST; Larson, Johnson win in Blackshear; Denison, Leggett and Smith win in Patterson

Special to SEGAZINE

Only about one in five registered Pierce County voters went to the polls Tuesday, but those who did overwelming voted – by a 4-to-1 margin – to approve a 1% Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) to begin early next year.

In other contested results, Dick Larson was elected Blackshear’s new mayor. He took 65% of the vote over Carl Rainge and Walter Britton. Melvin Johnson will be District 4′s next City Council representative, taking 62% of vote against Brandon Britton and Colleen Noble.

Incumbent Patterson Mayor George Denison won the closest race of the night with about 56% of the vote against challenger Vivian Baxter. Incumbent City Council member Sarah Davis will lose her seat after Teresa Leggett and David Smith finished with the top tallies for two at-large council vacancies.

Total county voter turnout was 21.1 percent. Turnout was about 28.3% for Blackshear and almost 48% for Patterson. Complete vote counts are included below. (Click here to view a breakdown of voting by precinct in PDF format.)

via The Blackshear Times

Western Winter Bat Sleeve Fur Collar Women Cardiganbanner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>